Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi FV people!

I'm pretty new to the forums here, so hopefully I posted this in a good place to get some replies.

I have an opportunity that has come up and I am conflicted on what is the best option at this point so hoping to get some opinions/advice. Here's the situation:

I work as a emergency/critical care veterinary technician for a wonderful company in a major metro area. Seriously, this is the cream of the crop for hospitals in this state. I've been here FT for 2 1/2 years. I have an advanced certification that i attained last year, I'm a shift lead, I've been licensed for 8 years and in the field for 10. I make nearly top of the pay scale for this career field. I work graveyard shift, which is what I prefer (by FAR).

I rent an apartment about 30 min from my job. I own a house about 2 hours away that I rent to basically the perfect tenants. I moved from the house in order to take this job 3 years ago because quality ER hospitals no longer existed close enough to commute.

Due to many factors, I have decided that when my current tenants leave, I will move back to my house (2hrs from work). There is now another branch of my current work that is just over an hour commute from the hosue, so that is doable. My tenants are long-term. They may leave when the lease is up in 4 months (unlikely) or it may be another 3+ years before they leave. I do not want to kick them out ahead of time. I am underwater on the house by 30-60K so no chance or interest in selling. No need to foreclose or short-sell. I am not interested or capable of buying a second home close to my current workplace.

The dilemma right now: