Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
398 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I did move back to Oklahoma from Germany.

I did get out of the military, and I am now a full time student.

And in the process of moving, I have seemed to forgotten everything I knew about frugal living! I have blown through savings at an alarming rate.

It took a while for the GI Bill to get caught up and started, but it finally did, thank goodness.

And I am still getting unemployment for about 13 more weeks.

It has been hard, adjusting to civilian life after military life for 9 plus years. I think that I overspent to compensate for my feelings. If that makes any sense.

But, *sigh*, I am back. And I have got to make it work again.... because I really do want to finish school so I am more competitive in todays job market.

Luckily, the school I go to is not expensive at all... (18 hours only costed 2,000 dollars) and where I live the cost of living is relatively cheap.

But it is weird not having those checks being deposited on the 1st and the 15th every month. I really dont know how to handle budgeting out for the month by weeks.... which is how the unemployment comes in.

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
16,430 Posts
treeluva,

We get paid twice a month, which makes life interesting in the months with five weeks. What we do is figure out our once-a-month and once-a-year expenses, divide by 12, and put that amount aside each month. In your case, divide yearly expenses by 52 and put that amount aside each week.

The thing is to know how much you need, when, to pay what. We made a list so we could keep it straight. DH then drew up a schedule in Excel to show how much we needed in the account each pay period for different set bills.

For things like electricity, say, where the amount needed changes throughout the year, we round the average up to account for any rate increases (there usually is one!).