Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a couple of griswold's and a Wagner waffle makers.
Were the bases originally painted? Or What?
The three I have all have been painted, whats left of it.
Looking to restore them.
Thank You,

·
Super Moderator
19,540 Posts
Okay. I'm not sure japanning was used on cookware, or if it would be safe for cookware. I'm not an expert on japanning though. If it was mine, I think I'd strip it if possible. I wonder if you could remove it using electrolytic rust reduction, which would strip it to the bare iron so you could reseason it, if it's strippable. Here's a few pics of the method and results. I started with this:

This is a frying pan in a washing soda/tap water solution. The gunk looks gross but it's not dangerous. The water started out looking like the water inside the tin can, which I added so the can wouldn't float. All the gunk is the crap the electrolysis pulled off the pan.

This is the grill pan pictured above after it had its spa day in the same gunk as the frying pan.

This is the easiest way to strip cast iron I've found. Usually even the worst rust and crud cleans up with an overnight soak at most, and then everything washes off with a light scrubbing at most. Since the iron is then unprotected, it will start to rust again immediately so would need to be seasoned again right away.

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
ramcharger, are you talking the actual cooking part of the waffle iron, or the rest of it? You said the bases, which leads me to believe you are talking about the non-cooking part. If that's the case, couldn't you use a high-heat paint?

·
Super Moderator
19,540 Posts
Paint perfectly good cast iron? :yikes: :)

Restoring, IMO, would mean removing the paint and reseasoning. I have never tried electrolysis for paint removal but I think it would work and would be easy.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7