Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that homeschooling has become more "vogue" or at least more common. Dh and I have often said that we wouldn't do it but as hear more reasons as to why some families choose homeschooling I understand it more. I still don't think that I could do it well.

But what made your family choose to homeschool?

·
Registered
15,626 Posts
I am disillusioned with the public school system out here. I watched it send through family members repeatedly...three of em!!! Who should have never been allowed to continue on. I watched them struggle having been put into next levels where they didn't have the foundation for anything.

I myself had an awful experience in public schools. Being a military brat, I spent years jumping from school to school. But I studied on my own and was ahead in so many ways. But instead i was held back. I got frustrated and eventually gave up... letting my grades freefall until i was a failure at everything. Then I was placed in a school that was considered to be full of unwanted students. Unteachables. And what's funny is that even though those students had problems with the law and such (one 16 yo was there because he repossessed a tattoo - I am not kidding) the students were so gifted! We could study at our own pace. If it took two weeks or two years (or more) to blow through all the classes so be it. The staff supported and encouraged. There were maybe 20 students there total and four teachers! It was great. I loved it. For the record i took two years worth of highschool and finished in right around 12 weeks. And brought my gpa to a 3.98 out of 4.0. I was salutatorian.

DH had to go through the same school. (he wasn't a trouble maker he just didn't grasp the concepts...considered unteachable) and that was when we decided if we had kids we'd find alternatives to conventional schools.